January and February Favorites 2017

First quarter of the year is almost over but one thing has been pretty consistent; the heat. If you’ve not made sunscreen and water your best friend, I don’t know how you’ve made it this far and no you’re not my hero because that’s just ridiculous. My heroes are the ladies who have been able to wake up each day and put on a full face of makeup and have it remain intact throughout.

At the rate I sweat, I’ve kept my makeup look very minimal, meaning a bit of concealer and powder for my face, eyebrows and eyeliner are done and finishing off with lipstick. Even then my sweat pores have failed me on a few occasions because I could literally walk five steps and I will be drenched in sweat looking like I’ve been running a marathon 🙂 .

I instead chose to focus on taking care of my skin so that my pores don’t get clogged and minimize the chances of getting breakouts. Here are some of my January and February favorites in my Battling the Heat 101 guide 🙂 .

Skincare

First up is the Seacret Mineral-Rich Clarifying Mud Mask, which I got last year in December at Westgate as a treat. This was my first time trying out a mud mask and though a bit pricey, has been a good investment. It’s composed of Dead Sea mineral mud and works to gently purify and clean clogged pores and contains a herbal complex of aloe-vera, chamomile extract, vitamin A and sunflower seed a jojoba oil.

IMAG0988

Per the instructions, I use it once a week applying it on my face avoiding my eye area. After five minutes, I gently wash it off with warm water and finally with cold water. Three months in and it’s an absolute favorite. I love the smell and consistency of the mask, how easily it applies and how fresh my skin feels after the treatment.

I have definitely noticed a reduction in the number of breakouts and a change in the texture of my skin. There’s a pleasant tingling sensation to the mask and you feel it working it’s magic. I’d definitely recommend this for that fresh skin feeling and is suited for all skin types.

IMAG0989 (1)

Along with my mud mask, I also got the Seacret Balancing Facial Serum, developed for all skin types and which works to reduce the appearance of wrinkles. It contains a concentrated combination of vitamins and Dead Sea minerals. The formula is light and absorbs well leaving my skin feeling fresh, moisturized and not greasy. I mentioned before in my Skincare 101 post, how important it is to have a good serum, my interest in trying it out and I must say I’m loving it. My face feels smooth, my complexion evened out and hormonal acne scars have been consistently fading, which is all I can ask for.

Lastly is the KTC Pure Almond Oil, which I get it from Healthy U. This has become a staple in my skincare routine using it to remove my makeup particularly mascara add it to my body lotion and also use it on my hair. This is a must have.

IMAG0994

Lip care

Anything that keeps my lips soft, supple and moisturized I’m on board with, whether it’s lip balms or glosses on those days I don’t feel like I want to apply lipstick  as well as just to give my lips some TLC (a girl loves her liquid lipsticks).

IMAG0992

I got these three lip balms from my cousin (shout out Wambui Waithera 🙂 ), who’s just one of the sweetest people I know. The Burt’s Bees balm has peppermint, making it tingly, Chap Stick has a subtle cherry flavor and Lip Smacker has devil food’s cake flavor. These have been such a life saver and coupled with regular exfoliation are a must have.

Our faces are exposed to the elements most of the time and you can get so absorbed with taking care of your face, you neglect your lips. The weather combined with that matte liquid lipstick you love can leave your lips looking all jacked up, so take care of them! 🙂

Makeup

Minimal makeup means fewer brushes and the Elf Professional concealer and eyeliner brush are a great addition to my collection. The concealer brush has been amazing when I’m cleaning and carving out my eyebrows because it fits perfectly and the eyeliner brush has been great not only for eyeliner but also for smoking out my lower lash line with barely any fallout.

IMAG0990

I got these from Good Life pharmacy and with both brushes, the bristles are soft but still firm enough to apply product making it easy to work with precision and they are easy to clean. I’d definitely get one more of each to add to my collection.

Another little gem I got from the pharmacy are the Elf oil blotting sheets. These are perfect for absorbing oil and shine, minimizing pores and mattify your skin. They are small enough to fit in your makeup bag and all you need to do is pull out a sheet, blot out your T-zone area and any other area that you feel needs it.

IMAG0985

 

As always, I hope you enjoyed this post and I’ll see you on the next one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

